I am a New Zealander, born in Auckland in 1960. I was brought up mostly in India and Australia, where my father worked as a doctor. I have NZ, Australian and Swiss citizenship, however it is New Zealand that I now call home. I have a 26 year old daughter, who is an outdoor education teacher and adventure trip leader.

I have a BA degree (English major) and I am a qualified and very experienced ESL/EFL teacher. Although I mostly work in this field, I also take on short contracts as a trip leader for young adults travelling in Australia and SE Asia. I am always on the lookout for interesting and challenging teaching positions either in New Zealand or overseas. I am happy to teach children, teenagers or adults of any English level.

It is my intention to pursue my interest in writing alongside any teaching position. One of my goals for the near future is to complete post-graduate study in the field of creative writing.

Current Situation

For the first term of 2015 I am working as a primary school tutor on Dirk Hartog Island, off the coast of Western Australia. I did this job for the whole 2014 school year and absolutely loved it. Unfortunately, changes to education support funding for some isolated locations, including Dirk Hartog Island, mean that it is highly likely I will need a new job from April 2015. For the right job, however, I could make myself available earlier.

Personal Interests

  • off-road running
  • tramping/hiking
  • sea kayaking
  • skiing
  • swimming and snorkeling
  • travel
  • fiction and poetry writing
  • travel writing
  • photography
  • the cinema
  • reading
  • the theatre


honesty and trustworthiness

adaptability and flexibility

high level of motivation

enthusiasm and the ability to enthuse others

good sense of humour

good communication skills


ability to think outside the square

a sense of adventure

passion for inspiring self-confidence in others

relative unflappability in difficult or unexpected situations